A DUI charge can be taxing emotionally, mentally, and financially. It is natural for those who are charged with DUI to experience a roller coaster of emotions that may induce a lot of stress and panic.
As a response, most act fearfully and irrationally. It results in mistakes that can probably incriminate them. Although it is perfectly normal to feel a different range of emotions after a DUI arrest, it is always best to be level-headed and strategic when addressing your situation. In other words, in the instance of a DUI charge, one must stay calm and collected.
What is A DUI Charge?
If you have been arrested for DUI, you were most probably operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. DUI or driving under the influence is also called impaired-driving, driving while intoxicated or DWI, drunk driving, or operating while intoxicated (OWI). Anyone who is found in control of a vehicle, whether moving or parked, can be charged with DUI as long as the person is found on the driver’s seat possessing the car keys.
What is the Proper Way to Deal with a DUI Charge?
The last thing you want to do when charged with DUI is to panic. It may be a natural reaction based on your emotions, but that may not be a good strategy if you want to put up a good legal fight.
Before you make your strategy, make sure you are rational. Shake off all the emotions from your body. Prepare yourself to create a sound strategy made out of careful planning. What will give you the highest possibility of success in a DUI case are a meticulous examination of all evidence and a good lawyer to help you sort everything to your advantage.
DUI Offenses in Michigan
If you live in Michigan and you were charged with DUI, you should know that there are a several penalties that you could encounter. Here are the offenses:
- First Offense
This offense will give you 93-day jailtime. You will be fined from $100 up to $500 in 45 days.
This offense will land you in jail for 5 days to 1 year. In the second offense, the fine is $200 up to $1,000. Aside from these, you will also be made to do a maximum of 90 days of community service.
- Third Offense
On the third offense, you will be fined $500 to $5,000 with a jail time ranging from 30-day probation to 1-year jailtime. You will also be made to do 60 days of community service and 180 days of mandatory vehicle mobilization.
Ways to Deal with Stress after a DUI
- Do not continuously blame yourself.
Even if it was indeed your fault, you must not continue blaming yourself. You have to act logically and think of the next steps to take.
- Reach out to family and friends.
Dealing with a DUI charge can be stressful and hard to handle on your own. Have a support system around you who will unconditionally give you care and love at such a trying time in your life.
- Seek therapy or support from a treatment center.
It is the perfect time to think and evaluate your situation. If you feel that there is a deeper root as to why this happened to you, it is essential to address it to prevent it from happening again.
Addressing the root of the problem is more crucial than getting you out of jail. There are treatment and rehabilitation centers that can help you in case you think you need professional help.
- Relax and consult a lawyer.
If you are thinking of a scenario to avoid jail time, it will be unlikely. By consulting a skilled lawyer, however, there is a possibility that you may avoid jail time. A good lawyer will not mislead you and will give you an honest assessment of the situation.
Being faced with a DUI charge, you will most likely panic and do all you can to avoid jail time. However, if the police have already gathered all the evidence against you, you will most likely have to deal with the consequences. Thus, you must avoid, at all costs, doing things on your own and being your own lawyer.
For top notch services of a criminal lawyer in Lansing, contact us now. Call us at +1 (517) 347-6900 or drop by at either of our offices in Okemos or Lansing to schedule an initial consultation.